Pantera The Great Southern Trendkill 20th Anniversary Edition Available October 21

So great to speak with Philip, the great Terry Date, Rex, Vinnie and Ulrich Wild for these liner notes! #honored



DATE: August 12,2016


Pantera Expands Its Fourth Album As A Two-Disc Set That Pairs The Original With A Dozen Previously Unreleased Studio And Live Recordings

Available On October 21 From Rhino

LOS ANGELES – Pantera pulled no punches on The Great Southern Trendkill, one of the most intense and hardest-hitting albums the group ever recorded; which is saying something. Released in 1996, the album reached #4 on the Billboard Top 200 chart, and went on to become Pantera’s fourth consecutive platinum release.

The album turns 20 this year and to mark the occasion Rhino will release THE GREAT SOUTHERN TRENDKILL: 20th ANNIVERSARY EDITION. This two-disc set includes the original album remastered, plus a dozen previously unreleased mixes, instrumentals, and live recordings. The set also features rare photos from the era, as well as new liner notes by esteemed rock critic and radio producer Katherine Turman that explore the stories behind the album and its legacy. The collection will be available on October 21 as a 2-CD set ($19.98) and digitally. On the same day, a single LP titled THE GREAT SOUTHERN OUTTAKES will also be available ($21.98) featuring 10 of the unreleased tracks.

After Pantera topped the album charts in 1994 with Far Beyond Driven, Philip Anselmo, Rex Brown, Dimebag Darrell, and Vinnie Paul returned two years later with the dark, unrelenting and highly personal music heard on The Great Southern Trendkill.

The record stayed on the charts for more than three months and produced three singles: “Drag The Waters,” “Suicide Note Pt. 1,” and fan favorite “Floods,” a power ballad that includes an epic guitar solo that showcases Dimebag’s fretboard wizardry and is considered by many to be his finest.

The companion disc that accompanies the original album features an unreleased version of every album track, including two versions of “Suicide Note Pt. 1” – a rough mix of the track, along with a separate version of the introduction, which spotlights Dimebag on 12-string acoustic guitar.

The second disc also features a newly remixed version of the title track, rough mixes for “Drag The Waters” and “The Underground In America,” as well as instrumental takes for “13 Steps To Nowhere” and “Living Through Me (Hell’s Wrath).” In addition to the studio recordings, the anniversary collection features three live tracks recorded at the Dynamo Festival in Holland in 1998: “War Nerve,” “Suicide Note Pt. II,” and “Sandblasted Skin.”

For more information about PANTERA, please contact Jason Elzy in the Rhino Media Relations Department at [email protected] or 818-238-6220.

Track Listing

Disc One
1. The Great Southern Trendkill
2. War Nerve
3. Drag The Waters
4. 10’s
5. 13 Steps To Nowhere
6. Suicide Note Pt. I
7. Suicide Note Pt. II
8. Living Through Me (Hell’s Wrath)
9. Floods
10. The Underground In America
11. (Reprise) Sandblasted Skin

Disc Two
1. The Great Southern Trendkill (2016 Mix)
2. War Nerve (Live ’98)
3. Drag The Waters (Early Mix)
4. 10’s (Early Mix)
5. 13 Steps To Nowhere (Instrumental Version)
6. Suicide Note Pt. I (Intro) *
7. Suicide Note Pt. I (Early Mix) *
8. Suicide Note Pt. II (Live ’98)
9. Living Through Me (Hell’s Wrath) (Instrumental Version)
10. Floods (Early Mix)
11. The Underground In America (Early Mix)
12. Sandblasted Skin (Live ’98)

*Not included in THE GREAT SOUTHERN OUTTAKES LP release